Customer Service 877.625.7872 | Technical Support 888.565.3200
Nex-Tech Help Desk
Mon. - Fri. 7AM - 11PM
Sat. - Sun. 8AM - 8PM
or call 888.565.3200

Preference Settings



Go To Settings


Press MENU and highlight Settings. Then enter your password, highlight OK and press OK. There are two main sections of Settings: Preferences and Users. In this article, we will be going over Preferences.


Preferences - settings that affect your overall service. This includes if rentals are shared between users, if users must log in, how on-screen alerts are handled, parental controls and blocked channels that apply to everyone, and what Theme is used.






Working With Preferences

NOTE: Share Rentals and Require Login are only needed if you intend to use User Accounts (i.e. an account for children).

Share Rentals makes Video on Demand rentals available for any user (enabled), or only available to the user who makes the purchase (disabled).
To turn Share Rentals on or off, highlight the check box and press OK.

Require Login determines if a user name and password must be entered before being able to use your TV service.
To turn Require Login on or off, highlight the check box and press OK.

Enable Caller ID turns on or off screen alerts for incoming Caller ID.
To turn Enable Caller ID on or off, highlight the check box and press OK.

Channel Blocking enables or disables the list of channels you have blocked. Blocked channels do not appear in Guide.
To turn Channel Blocking on or off, highlight the check box and press OK.

To edit the list of channels that are blocked, highlight the Edit button and press OK.
NOTE: For details on editing channels to be blocked, see Channel Blocking at the bottom of the page or click here.

Parental Control turns all parental control settings on or off for all users.
To turn Parental Control on or off, highlight the check box and press OK.
NOTE: For details on editing parental controls, see the Settings/Users article in the Features category.

Caller ID Timeout determines how long Caller ID notifications remain on screen.
To set Caller ID Timeout, highlight the option box to the right of Caller ID Timeout and press OK. Then press the Right or Left Arrow Key to rotate to the amount of time you want the alert displayed, then press OK.

Theme - for service provider use only

Autotune Alert determines how early an auto tune will be shown once you set an auto tune.
To set an Autotune Alert, highlight the option box to the right of Autotune Alert and press OK. Then press the Right or Left Arrow Key to display 0 seconds, 30 seconds, 2 minutes, or 5 minutes, then press OK.

Hardware Settings - for service provider use only






Channel Blocking

Channel Blocking Edit displays a list of all channels available. You can then block or unblock an channel. Blocked channels WILL NOT APPEAR in the channel lineup.


To block channels, highlight the Channel Blocking Edit button and press OK.

If no changes have been made on the Preferences screen, you will go directly to the list of all available channels. If any changes have been made to the main Preferences screen and you have not already updated them, a Save Changes box will appear. Highlight YES and press OK if you wish to save these changes. The Settings Successfully Updated notice will then appear. Highlight OK, and press the OK button.

The Channel Blocking list will appear.

To block/unblock a channel, highlight the channel entry and press OK.

To go to the next screen of channels, press the Up or Down Arrow Key. When complete, arrow to update and press OK.